Home News Meetings Papers Publication Periodicals Our hystory Information resources

Collection of scientific papers

EECCA NWO's Collection of scientific papers

Home arrow Kyrgyzstan arrow Zhalalabad BWMO
Zhalalabad Basin Water Management Organization PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 17 September 2010

Batkent province is located in the Fergana Valley in the submountain area of Alai and Turkestan ranges. The province borders upon Sogd province, Tajikistan in the west and south, Fergana province, Uzbekistan in the north, and Nookar district of Osh province, Kyrgyzstan in the east. Five interstate rivers cross the Batkent province. Those are Isphairamsai, Shakhimardan, Sokh, Isphara, and Khoja-Bakirgan rivers from which water is diverted on the basis of protocols of inter-republican agreements. The surface stream-flow is distributed quite inequitably throughout the province, especially during dry periods.
The area of Zhalalabad province is 33.6 thousand square kilometers. The province is located in the south of Kyrgyzstan in the Fergana Valley. The Zhalalabad province borders on Tashkent province in the west and Namangan and Andizhan provinces, Uzbekistan and Osh province, Kyrgyzstan in the south. The province borders on Naryn province in the east and Talass province in the north. The Zhalalabad province is situated from 600 m to 4500 m above sea level. This predetermines graphic zonality of natural conditions, particularly climatic ones. Here climate varies from semi-desert to near-arctic conditions. For water use purposes, the province has 86 irrigation sources.
Zhalalabad BWMO includes 8 district (rayon) water management divisions and one mobile mechanical division.
Zhalalabad BWMO operates 660.3 km of public large canals, with the total command area of 125.5 thousand ha, 745 hydraulic structures, 46 pump stations, 2 wells, 1 reservoir and 3 daily runoff ponds, with the useful capacity of 22.7 Mm3.

At present, out of 125.5 thousand ha of the province’s irrigated area:
• 120.1 thousand ha or 96% are in good condition;
• 2.5 thousand ha or 2% are satisfactory;
• 2.8 thousand ha or 2% are unsatisfactory.

The list of functions and mandate at the provincial level includes the following:
• Organization of operation of the state irrigation and drainage network, canals, diversion, regulating and other hydraulic structures, pump stations, wells, reservoirs, power-supply lines, transforming stations and other elements of the state water infrastructure in order to improve their performance and reduce process water losses.
• Construction, reconstruction, and modernization of water-management and nature-protection systems and structures.
• Adoption of new automation, telecontrol and water control facilities and measures for their effective application.
• Development of draft perspective and annual forecast-plans for efficient water resources use.
• Design and survey work for other ministries and departments, according to state orders and through contracts with local authorities, peasant and individual farms, agricultural cooperative and other economic entities.
• Organization of development of water-management balances, perspective multipurpose water resources plans for river basins, irrigation systems, rayons and province as a whole.
• Control over technical state, use and repair of earth-moving machines, vehicles, and other machinery.
• Monitoring over availability of state pump stations, supervision over the state of pump stations and correction of their operation rules, as well as energy management.
• Estimation of needs for spare parts for smooth operation of pump stations and pressure pipelines.
• Control over implementation of current and capital repairs of pump stations, power equipment, earth-moving machines, vehicles, and mechanisms.
• Qualifying evaluation of operating staff from operations department.

Moghol str.,4, Zhalal-Abad, 715600, Kyrgyz Republic
Phone: (996 3722) 5-51-49
Fax: (996 3722) 5-24-43




Last Updated ( Friday, 17 September 2010 )
  При поддержке: